Firebirds Official Sponsor

Pringle Award

The Pringle Award
Something Special

The Pringle Award , so named to honor the memory of John Pringle,  was first established at Lakota high school in 1977. Mr. Pringle gave generously of his time and talents for many years in support of the Thunderbird athletic program and the Lakota Athletic Boosters Club.

The award was presented to the male and female athletes in each years graduating class who were judged to have had the most outstanding athletic careers while in high school.  The Pringle Award was based soley on outstanding athletic achievement.

Lakota Athletes have been honored with this award annually since 1977.  When Lakota split into two high schools the award was continued at both Lakota East and Lakota West.  The Pringle Award was last given at West to members of the class of  2014 and has since been discontinued.

Lakota West’s Pringle Award Winners 


1998 Michael Hewitt Kelly Waggoner
1999 Mathew Temesy Kelly O’Hara
2000 Andy Dunn Katie Severson
2001 David Hutzelman Celia Nowicki
2002 Matt McIntire Tara Swift
2003 Zach Flake Stephanie Comisar
2004 Brian LaChapelle Kara Gostisha
2005 Taylor Candella Brianne Eisenhard
2006 Josh Chichester Devon Brandenstein
2007 Brad Gschwind Amanda Burger
 2008  Ryan Fields Amber Gray
2009 Brandon Candella Samantha Burger
2010 Jordan Hicks Ashleigh Witte
2011 Ty Davis Devyn Ciotti
2012  Josh Spaw Lauren Pratt
2013  Bryan McNamara Annie Bierman
2014  Malik Grove Casey Frazier