Firebirds Official Sponsor

Girls Junior Varsity Tennis, Girls Varsity Tennis · Lakota West Girls Tennis: Nicole Sturgeon Advances to Districts for the Fourth Time

Lakota West Senior Nicole Sturgeon has advanced to the OHSAA Southwest Ohio District tournament for the fourth straight time.  As a freshman, she placed fourth at sectionals on a doubles team with Danielle Clark, but lost in the first round of districts.  In 2014 and 2015, she placed third at sectionals as a singles player, but again lost in the first round of districts.  Sturgeon finished fourth at sectionals this year winning her first three matches before losing to sectional runner-up Anke Patel from Springboro (top four advance to districts).

Sturgeon will attempt to turn around her district misfortunes on Thursday, October 13th (9am) at the Lindner Tennis Center in Mason, but it will not come easy.  She will face the #1 Cincinnati sectional seed, Emily Thomas from Princeton, last year’s OHSAA State Singles Champion.  The two faced off early in the season on August 25th where Thomas prevailed 1-6, 1-6.

Sturgeon is one of only two Lakota West female players to qualify for districts all four years (Ashley Witte, 2006-2009 being the other, twice singles & twice doubles).  Sturgeon’ post season run in this  years state tournament series marks the culmination of an illustrious high school tennis career.  She has competed in 109 high school matches at Lakota West, all at the varsity level,  a total second only to Witte’s 130.  Over her four year stint on the varsity squad she has competed in first doubles, third singles, second singles, and for the past two years as the teams primary first singles player.  Sturgeon appeared in her first, first singles match as a sophomore and this year she twice partnered with her sister Abby, a freshman, to win first doubles matches.

Highlights of her career also include achieving 37 victories as a first single player (2nd only to Witte at Lakota West) and having twice earned spots on All GMC teams, including first singles honorable mention this year.