Skip to content

J. Kyle Braid

708 Reads


braidThe J.Kyle Braid Ranch was created by Ken and Colleen Braid in Villa Grove, Colorado. The motivation for starting such a foundation was the death of their only son Kyle. As a sophomore in high school, Kyle was heavily involved with his school’s varsity football team, and chose to start using anabolic steriods in order to get bigger and stronger. The steriods took control over him, causing severe depression and mood swings, and eventually Kyle took his own life. Ken and Colleen, along with all other directors of the ranch, have dedicated their lives to helping teenagers have a positive impact on their peers, school, and community. Every year about 160 sophomore student athletes attend the ranch for a week in the summer, around 20 people each week, to receive leadership training and get to know other leaders around the country. They also get to go white-water rafting, horse back riding, skeet shooting, paintballing, and much more.Aftermath: After recipients attend the ranch and learn how to be a better positive role model and leader, the objective has only begun. The Braids’ mission is not only to train the teenage leaders of America, but to have them go back and train others and share what they have learned. When the finalists are chosen at each school for the ranch, they are also selected to be a part of a two-year committee. Participents are expected to come back from their experience and use what they learned in their school and community throughout their junior and senior years. If they can change a couple peoples’ lives, and those couple can change another couple, and so on and so forth, this country would be a much better place. That is what Ken and Colleen are hoping for. It is a fact that when teenagers are having problems, more than 85% of them go to other teenagers for help. Teens have the greatest chance of influencing their peers. Not teachers, not coaches, not even their own parents. If people want the youth of the nation to turn out better than what they are now, the answer is the youth of the nation

Visit the ranch website

Activities: The J.Kyle Braid Committee participates in many community service and charity events in the community, as well as several things to help out Lakota West. Each year, the J. Kyle Braid group in all of Butler County organizes and conducts a 2 day countywide conference – Teens Leading Teens – for 9th grade leaders, which is attended by more than 100 local freshman every year. During these two days we teach the students Refusal and Negotiation Skills, as well as teambuilding activities. Another annual event they participate in is Relay for Life, which is an 18 hour walk for cancer patients. Teams are formed and compete to raise the most money, which is all donated to the American Cancer Society. The J.Kyle Braid group is a team, and does many fundraisers to earn money. At West the JKB group runs dodgeball tournaments and euchre tournaments to give students chances to meet new people and get closer with their classmates, along with talking to sports teams about their commitments to their teammates and themselves.


JKB Award Winners
1997 Winners
1998 Winners
1999 Winners
Gerald Parker
Jody Rice
Chris Alles
Steve Rapien
Gina Lower
Mike Scrudato
Ashley Hain
David Hutzleman
Lindsay Devereaux
Kara McCue
Dave Rapien
Chelsea York
2000 Winners
2001 Winners
2002 Winners
John Alshouse
David Griffin
Taylor Candella
Steve Gilday
Brandon Posten
Cody Carrol
Stephanie Comizar
Kara Gostisha
Bri Eisenhardt
Laura Tyburski
Carlin Scrudato
Rachael Ulrich
2003 Winners
2004 Winners
2005 Winners
Eric Dahman
Alex Kaufman
Craig Gauden
Micheal Hansford
Brian Holaday
Chris Dooley
Sally Ogle
Jenna Hagglund
Kim Bethea
Leah Ledford
Victoria Bachand
Marissa Steen
2006 Winners
2007 Winners
2008 Winners
Brandon Candella
Jordan Hicks
Jared Schroeder
Bryan Beaver
Nick Hagglund
Andy McCalla
Brigit Reder
Sam Whelan
Megan Cravenor
Christine Brewer
Kelsey Betz
Claire Kozlowski
2009 Winners
2010 Winners
 2011 Winners
Bari Schwartz
Nicole Soutar
Nick Bengal
Yasmin Moftakhar
Lauren Rose
 Josh Gerding
Brady Holmer
Josh Gerding
 Lauren Rose
Nathan Haynes
Nick Bengal
 Nicole Soutar
2012 Winners
2013 Winners
 2014 Winners
 Bashir Emlemdi  Lara Aull
Gabe Welp  Jamie Cogan
Kim Adams  Emily Haar
Kirsty Rae  Austin Allinger
 Cody Krause
 Jackson Smith
  • Latest Photo Galleries

    View More Galleries



    New Article: Lakota West Track & Field: 21 Firebirds Advance to Regionals in 16 events;…

    About 29 minutes ago · reply · retweet · favorite